8 July 2024

Entain plc
(“Entain”, the “Company”)

Board Appointment

Entain plc (LSE: ENT), the global sports betting and gaming group, announces the appointment of Helen Ashton as an Independent Non-Executive Director with immediate effect.

Helen has over 30 years of experience of working in public and private equity backed businesses and is a qualified Chartered Management Accountant. As former CFO of ASOS plc, as well as executive level roles in ASDA, Barclays and Lloyds Banking Group, Helen brings broad global business and financial services experience with extensive knowledge of high growth digital and retail businesses.

Helen is currently a Non-Executive Director and Chair of the Audit & Risk Committee of JD Sports Fashion plc.

On appointment, Helen will also become a member of the Audit Committee.

Barry Gibson, Chairman of Entain, said: “On behalf of the Board, I am delighted to welcome Helen to Entain. Helen brings a wealth of retail, digital, financial and board experience. As part of the continued strengthening of the Entain Board, I am confident that Helen will further enhance the Board’s ability to support and oversee the delivery of our strategy.

There are no details which are required to be disclosed under Listing Rule 9.6.13 (2) to (6).


Company Secretary - Entain plc

[email protected]

Investor Relations - Entain plc

[email protected]

Media - Entain plc

[email protected]


Rob Greening/Russ Lynch/Sam Austrums

Tel: +44 (0) 20 7250 1446

[email protected]

About Entain plc
Entain plc (LSE: ENT) is a FTSE100 company and is one of the world's largest sports betting and gaming groups, operating both online and in the retail sector. The Group owns a comprehensive portfolio of established brands: Sports brands include BetCity, bwin, Coral, Crystalbet, Eurobet, Ladbrokes, Neds, Sportingbet, Sports Interaction, STS, SuperSport and TAB NZ; Gaming brands include Foxy Bingo, Gala, GiocoDigitale, Ninja Casino, Optibet, Partypoker and PartyCasino. The Group owns proprietary technology across all its core product verticals and in addition to its B2C operations provides services to a number of third-party customers on a B2B basis.

The Group has a 50/50 joint venture, BetMGM, a leader in sports betting and iGaming in the US. Entain provides the technology and capabilities which power BetMGM as well as exclusive games and products, specially developed at its in-house gaming studios. The Group is tax resident in the UK and is the only global operator to exclusively operate in domestically regulated or regulating markets operating in over 30 territories.

Entain is a leader in ESG, a member of FTSE4Good, the DJSI and is AA rated by MSCI. The Group has set a science-based target, committing to be carbon net zero by 2035 and through the Entain Foundation supports a variety of initiatives, focusing on safer gambling, grassroots sport, diversity in technology and community projects. For more information see the Group’s website: www.entaingroup.com


Notes for Editors

  1. The appointment of Helen Ashton as an Independent Non-Executive Director was made by the Board on the recommendation of the People & Governance Committee.
  2. The Board determined that Helen Ashton is an Independent Non-Executive Director upon appointment in accordance with the UK Corporate Governance Code.
  3. The annual fee payable to Helen Ashton as a Non-Executive Director is £95,000.
  4. Helen Ashton has been issued with a Letter of Appointment, which may be viewed by contacting the Company Secretary.
  5. Following the above change, the composition of the Entain board will be as follows:
  • J M Barry Gibson, Chairman of the Board, Chair of the People & Governance Committee and Chair of the Capital Allocation Committee
  • Stella David, Interim Chief Executive Officer
  • Rob Wood, Chief Financial Officer and Deputy CEO
  • Pierre Bouchut, Senior Independent Director and Chair of the Audit Committee
  • David Satz, Independent Non-Executive Director and Chair of the Sustainability & Compliance Committee
  • Amanda Brown, Independent Non-Executive Director and Chair of the Remuneration Committee
  • Virginia McDowell, Independent Non-Executive Director and Designated Workforce Director
  • Rahul Welde, Independent Non-Executive Director
  • Ricky Sandler, Non-Executive Director
  • Ronald J. Kramer, Independent Non-Executive Director

LEI: 213800GNI3K45LQR8L28